November 30, 2021

More than two-thirds of WTO membership now part of investment facilitation negotiations

The announcement by eight WTO members of their decision to join the negotiations for an Agreement on Investment Facilitation for Development brings the number of participants to over 110. The decision by Albania, Georgia, the Maldives, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Uganda and Zimbabwe was revealed on 30 November at a Heads of Delegations’ meeting on this joint initiative chaired by Rodrigo Yáñez, Chile’s Vice-minister of Trade. Participants took stock of progress in the negotiations and committed to the objective of finalizing an agreement by the end of 2022.

All copyrights for this article are reserved to WTO news

Share This